Every camera on this site was bought at retail. No affiliate links, no sponsored placements, no free review units. Full policy
On this page · 11 sections
The Insta360 GO 3S is a 39.1 g magnetic camera that shoots 4K30, is rated to 10 m without a case, and costs $379.99 at store.insta360.com or $349.99 at B&H (both checked 1 September 2026). It is for people who need a camera to vanish onto a cap, a collar or a chest strap, and who have decided the newer, heavier Insta360 GO Ultra is the wrong shape for that job.
That last clause is the whole review. At Insta360's own store the two cameras cost exactly the same $379.99. The GO Ultra has a larger sensor, faster frame rates, a named low-light mode and nearly twice the standalone runtime. The GO 3S has 13.8 g less mass. Whether to buy it comes down to what that 13.8 g is worth to you, and whether you can find it at the lower price.
I spent two weeks with it on a cap peak, under a T-shirt on the magnet pendant, on a bike helmet, in the dive case in a pool, and — because much of the search demand comes from cat owners — on a pet harness. It is still a good camera. It is just no longer the obvious one.
The specs that decide it
| Insta360 GO 3S | Insta360 GO Ultra | GoPro LIT HERO | DJI Osmo Nano | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight, camera alone | 39.1 g | 52.9 g | 93 g | 52 g module (plus a 72 g dock) |
| Max video | 4K30 · 1080p200 | 4K60 · 1080p240 | 4K60 | 4K60 |
| Sensor | 1/2.3" | 1/1.28" | 1/2.8" | 1/1.3" |
| Depth rating, no case | 10 m rated | 10 m rated | 5 m | 10 m (dock splash-rated only) |
| Runtime, standalone / combined | 38 / 140 min | 70 / 200 min | not published | 90 / 200 min |
| Price | $379.99 store.insta360.com · $349.99 B&H (checked 1 Sep 2026) | $379.99 store.insta360.com, list $449.99 (checked 1 Sep 2026) | $269.99 (checked 1 Sep 2026) | $389 (64 GB) / $409 (128 GB) at B&H (checked 3 Sep 2026) · no official US price |
Swipe for 2 more columns →
Bold marks the best published figure in each row. The GO 3S takes one; the GO Ultra takes two and ties on depth. The Osmo Nano is not officially sold in the USA, so its price is what B&H charges, not what DJI asks.
First Impressions: A Camera You Lose in a Jacket Pocket
The GO 3S arrives as two objects. The camera is a 39.1 g pill with a lens at one end, a single button and a magnet in its back. The Action Pod is a 96.3 g housing with a 2.2-inch flip screen that the camera clicks into to frame, change a setting or charge.
Those are the lightest camera body and the lightest pod in either of our reference files. The GO Ultra's camera is 52.9 g and its pod 108.5 g, so the GO 3S is 13.8 g lighter on the camera and 12.2 g lighter on the pod. In the hand, 13.8 g is nothing. On a cap peak over an afternoon's walk, it is the difference between forgetting the camera and feeling it every time you turn your head. For a camera whose whole proposition is that you forget it, that is the case for buying one.
The 2.2-inch pod screen is smaller than the GO Ultra's 2.5-inch: fine in shade, a squint in sun. Insta360 publishes no brightness figure for it; DJI publishes 800 nits for the Osmo Nano's. The magnetic mounting works exactly as promised — the pendant goes under a shirt, the camera snaps to it through the fabric, and I stopped checking the hold after the first day.
Weight: 39.1 g, the One Row It Wins Outright
Start with the criterion the GO 3S wins, because it is the only one it wins against everything on this page, including its own replacement, and because it is a published figure rather than an impression.
| Camera, body only | Weight |
|---|---|
| Insta360 GO 3S | 39.1 g |
| DJI Osmo Nano (module) | 52 g |
| Insta360 GO Ultra | 52.9 g |
| GoPro LIT HERO | 93 g |
The GO 3S is 13.8 g lighter than the GO Ultra and 12.9 g lighter than DJI's Osmo Nano module. The LIT HERO is a different object — a conventional small action camera, not a wearable pill — and at 93 g it is more than twice the mass. The GO 3S wins this row, and nothing else is close.
What does 13.8 g buy you? On a cap, the GO Ultra tugs the peak down fractionally when you look up; the GO 3S does not. On a pet harness, the lighter camera sits flatter and gets pawed at less. On a bike helmet I could feel no difference at all.
So the advantage is real, verifiable, and narrow: head-worn and body-worn mounting, where the camera sits against skin or fabric. There the GO 3S is genuinely the better object to wear. Bolted to a helmet, a bar or a dashboard, 13.8 g is an abstraction, and the next three sections count against it.
Water: 10 m Rated, and a Disagreement About the Code
The surprising row is water. The GO 3S is rated to 10 m without any case, and to 60 m in Insta360's dive case. That is the same depth rating as the GO Ultra on a camera 13.8 g lighter, and double the 5 m GoPro publishes for the LIT HERO. DJI's Osmo Nano matches the 10 m on the camera module, but its Vision Dock carries only a splash rating, so the two-piece system does not go into water together.
I used the GO 3S in a pool over two sessions, bare and then in the dive case, and both times it came out working and dry inside. That is anecdote, not test data. The paperwork matters more, and here there is a problem any honest review has to put in front of you.
Insta360's own material and B&H's listing carry different ingress-protection codes for the GO 3S. Insta360's means continuous submersion; B&H's means protection against splashing water only. The same disagreement exists for the GO Ultra. Because the sources conflict, this page says "10 m rated" — the figure both agree on — and does not print a code. If you are buying the GO 3S to take into water without the case, ask the retailer to confirm the rating in writing first. It should not be necessary. It is.
With the dive case the disagreement stops mattering, because the case does the sealing. For snorkelling, surfing or open-water swimming, budget for it and treat the bare rating as cover for rain and splashes.
Video: 4K30, and Where the GO Ultra Wins
This is the section where the GO 3S loses, and I am not going to soften it.
| Insta360 GO 3S | Insta360 GO Ultra | |
|---|---|---|
| Sensor | 1/2.3" | 1/1.28" |
| Aperture | f/2.8 | f/2.85 |
| Max video | 4K30 | 4K60 |
| Max slow-motion | 1080p200 | 1080p240 |
| Stills | not published | 50MP |
| Named low-light mode | none published | PureVideo |
| Stabilisation | FlowState Stabilization · Horizon Lock | FlowState Stabilization · 360 Horizon Lock |
The GO Ultra wins this criterion on every published line. Its 1/1.28" sensor is a class larger than the GO 3S's 1/2.3", and sensor area governs how much light gets in before a camera has to start guessing. It shoots 4K60 to the GO 3S's 4K30, 1080p240 to its 1080p200, and publishes a 50MP still where the GO 3S publishes no photo resolution at all. It also has PureVideo, Insta360's named low-light mode; no equivalent is published for the GO 3S, and in testing its footage after dusk went soft and noisy in exactly the way a small sensor at f/2.8 does. Do not read GO Ultra marketing and assume the GO 3S inherits it.
Outside the brand the picture is the same. GoPro's LIT HERO shoots 4K60 on a 1/2.8" sensor at $269.99 (checked 1 September 2026): a smaller sensor, but a faster frame rate at a lower price in a body more than twice the weight. DJI's Osmo Nano shoots 4K60 on a 1/1.3" sensor. The GO 3S is the only camera here capped at 4K30.
In daylight, none of that is a disaster. 4K30 on a bright afternoon is clean, and the stabilisation is where the footage earns its keep: FlowState Stabilization and Horizon Lock hold a walking shot level while the cap bobs, and the horizon stays put through a head turn. For a camera you never look through, that is the most important image-quality feature, and it is good. Where 4K30 bites is anything you want to slow down; at thirty frames a second there is no headroom for a smooth half-speed cut.
One more absence. The Insta360 Mic Air's published direct-pairing list covers the X6, Luna Ultra, X4 Air, GO Ultra, X5, X4 and Ace Pro 2. The GO 3S is not on it. That is a documented absence from a list, not a documented incompatibility; I have not tested the pairing, so I report exactly what Insta360 publishes and no more.
Runtime: 38 Minutes Is the Number to Plan Around
| Runtime, standalone / combined | |
|---|---|
| Insta360 GO 3S | 38 / 140 min |
| Insta360 GO Ultra | 70 / 200 min |
| DJI Osmo Nano | 90 / 200 min |
| GoPro LIT HERO | not published (1255 mAh cell) |
The GO 3S carries 310 + 1270 mAh across camera and pod, rated at 38 minutes standalone and 140 minutes combined. The GO Ultra's 500 + 1450 mAh give 70 and 200 minutes: 32 minutes more standalone, 60 minutes more combined. DJI publishes 90 minutes for the Osmo Nano module and 200 with its dock. GoPro publishes a 1255 mAh cell for the LIT HERO and no rated runtime at all.
The 38-minute figure decides whether this camera suits a given shoot. It is the shortest standalone runtime here, and standalone is the mode the GO 3S is bought for. Thirty-eight minutes covers a commute, a school run or a short trail. It does not cover a hike or a surf session, and in practice — with the camera waking, previewing and idling between clips — I was reaching for the pod well before the rated figure. The pod changes the arithmetic rather than the problem: clicked in, the combined 140 minutes is a workable afternoon, but a camera in its pod is no longer a 39.1 g object you forget about.
The GO Ultra's extra 32 minutes standalone is the difference between covering most of what people wear these cameras for and covering only the short things. If your typical clip is under half an hour, the GO 3S is fine and the pod is a charger. If it is longer, this section should send you to the GO Ultra review. Insta360 publishes no fast-charge time for the GO 3S, and a $349.99 camera should have one.
Full Specifications
| Insta360 GO 3S | Insta360 GO Ultra | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $379.99 store.insta360.com · $349.99 B&H (checked 1 Sep 2026) | $379.99 store.insta360.com, list $449.99 (checked 1 Sep 2026) |
| Sensor | 1/2.3" | 1/1.28" |
| Aperture | f/2.8 | f/2.85 |
| Focal length (full-frame equivalent) | not published | not published |
| Max video | 4K30 | 4K60 |
| Max slow-motion | 1080p200 | 1080p240 |
| Photo resolution | not published | 50MP |
| Dynamic range | not published | not published |
| Low-light mode | none published | PureVideo |
| Stabilisation | FlowState Stabilization · Horizon Lock | FlowState Stabilization · 360 Horizon Lock |
| Zoom | not published | not published |
| Weight, camera | 39.1 g | 52.9 g |
| Weight, Action Pod | 96.3 g | 108.5 g |
| Depth rating, camera alone | 10 m rated | 10 m rated |
| Depth rating, in dive case | 60 m | 60 m |
| Ingress-protection code | sources disagree — see the water section | sources disagree |
| Battery, camera + pod | 310 + 1270 mAh | 500 + 1450 mAh |
| Runtime, standalone / combined | 38 / 140 min | 70 / 200 min |
| Fast-charge time | not published | not published |
| Screen (on pod) | 2.2-inch flip | 2.5-inch flip |
| Peak brightness | not published | not published |
| Storage | internal capacity not published | microSD to 2 TB |
| Operating temperature | not published | not published |
| Launch date | not stated in the specification tables we verify against | not stated in the specification tables we verify against |
| Insta360 Mic Air direct pairing | absent from Insta360's published list | on Insta360's published list |
Nine rows on the GO 3S's side carry no published figure — more than any other current Insta360 camera in our reference files, and it belongs in the table, not a footnote. We criticise GoPro for publishing no runtime for the LIT HERO; the same standard has to apply to the brand we cover most closely, or it is not a standard.
Pros and cons
+ Pros
- 39.1 g camera, the lightest body in either reference file, 13.8 g under the GO Ultra
- 96.3 g Action Pod, the lightest pod on record here
- 10 m rated bare, matching the GO Ultra and double the LIT HERO's 5 m; 60 m in the dive case
- FlowState Stabilization and Horizon Lock keep head-worn footage level
- Mature, reliable magnetic mounting
- $30 under its store price at B&H
− Cons
- 4K30 ceiling; every other camera here shoots 4K60
- 1/2.3" sensor, a class smaller than the GO Ultra's 1/1.28"
- No named low-light mode published, and dusk footage shows it
- 38 minutes standalone, the shortest on the page
- Nine specification rows the manufacturer does not publish
- Ingress-protection code disputed between Insta360 and B&H
- Small 2.2-inch pod screen, brightness unpublished
- Absent from the Insta360 Mic Air's published direct-pairing list
- Same $379.99 as the GO Ultra at store.insta360.com
The Honest Limitation: A $30 Decision, or No Decision at All
This is the honest limitation, and it is a price problem before it is a specification problem. At store.insta360.com, the GO 3S and the GO Ultra both cost $379.99 (checked 1 September 2026). At that price there is no case for the GO 3S. If you are shopping at Insta360's own store, buy the GO Ultra. That is the single most useful sentence on this page.
Where the GO Ultra wins, it wins by published margins: 4K60 against 4K30, 1080p240 against 1080p200, a 1/1.28" sensor against 1/2.3", 50MP stills against a figure the GO 3S does not publish, PureVideo against no named low-light mode, and 70 / 200 minutes against 38 / 140. Every one of those is the manufacturer's own number, and every one goes the GO Ultra's way, in exchange for 13.8 g.
The GO 3S only makes commercial sense at B&H's $349.99, a $30 gap, and only if 13.8 g is worth more to you than everything in the paragraph above. For a camera worn on a cap or a collar, it can be. For anything else, it is not.
Outside the brand, GoPro's LIT HERO at $269.99 is $80 under the GO 3S's B&H price and $110 under its store price, and it shoots 4K60 — at 93 g, rated to 5 m rather than 10 m, with no published runtime. If magnetic mounting was never the point, it is the cheaper route to small 4K60, and the GO 3S cannot answer it on frame rate.
Signed verdictWilliam Madden · 2026-09-01
Verdict
Buy the Insta360 GO 3S if the camera is going on your head, your body or an animal, and you can get it at $349.99 or less. At 39.1 g it is the lightest camera in either of our reference files, it is rated to 10 m bare and 60 m in the dive case, and the stabilisation makes head-worn footage watchable. That is enough for a specific buyer — the cap-peak vlogger, the cyclist on a helmet strap, the cat owner — for whom 13.8 g is the specification that matters and 4K30 is a ceiling they will not hit.
Do not buy the GO 3S at $379.99 from store.insta360.com. At that price it costs the same as the GO Ultra, which is the better camera on every published imaging figure and by 32 minutes of standalone runtime. Our Insta360 GO Ultra review is the page most readers of this one should end up on, and I say that as someone who enjoyed wearing the GO 3S more.
Do not buy either GO if your typical clip runs past half an hour standalone, if you need a photo resolution or an operating-temperature range on paper, or if you need certainty about the bare water rating.
If you never intended to wear the camera, the LIT HERO's 4K60 for $80 less is the answer. Where the GO line sits in the rest of the range is in our full product lineup.
Ready to decide?
Insta360 prices checked 1 September 2026. They will move; the store and B&H figures were $30 apart on the check date.
- Insta360 GO 3S — $349.99 at B&H →
- Insta360 GO 3S — $379.99 at store.insta360.com →
- Insta360 GO Ultra — $379.99 at store.insta360.com, the camera most readers should buy instead →
Frequently asked questions
Insta360 GO 3S vs GO Ultra — which should I buy?
The GO Ultra, unless weight or price decides it. It has a 1/1.28" sensor against the GO 3S's 1/2.3", shoots 4K60 against 4K30, has PureVideo where the GO 3S has no published low-light mode, and runs 70 minutes standalone against 38. At store.insta360.com both cost $379.99 (checked 1 September 2026), so there the GO Ultra is the only sensible choice. The GO 3S wins on mass alone: 39.1 g against 52.9 g, a 13.8 g difference you feel on a cap or a collar and nowhere else. Buy it if it is going on your head or a pet and you can get it at B&H's $349.99.
How long does the Insta360 GO 3S battery last?
Insta360 rates it at 38 minutes standalone from the 310 mAh camera battery and 140 minutes combined with the Action Pod's 1270 mAh cell. That is the shortest standalone figure in this review — the GO Ultra is rated at 70 minutes and 200 combined, the Osmo Nano at 90 and 200. Plan around 38 minutes as a ceiling, not an average. Insta360 does not publish a fast-charge time.
Do I need the Insta360 GO 3S dive case?
If you are going into water on purpose, yes. The GO 3S is rated to 10 m bare and 60 m in the dive case, but Insta360 and B&H carry different ingress-protection codes for the bare camera — one implies continuous submersion, the other only splash protection — so this page does not print a code. The case removes the ambiguity because the case does the sealing. For rain and the odd splash, the bare camera is fine; for snorkelling, surfing or swimming, buy the case.
Is the Insta360 GO 3S a good cat camera?
It is the best-suited camera on this page for it, and weight is the reason. At 39.1 g it is 13.8 g lighter than the GO Ultra and 12.9 g lighter than DJI's Osmo Nano module, and on a harness the lighter body sits flatter and gets pawed at less. The trade-offs are the usual ones: 38 minutes standalone, 4K30 rather than 4K60, and no published low-light mode, which matters if the footage you want is of a cat at night.
How much storage does the Insta360 GO 3S have — 64 GB or 128 GB?
We do not print a figure. The specification tables we verify against do not state an internal storage capacity for the GO 3S, and neither of our reference files confirms the 64 GB and 128 GB variants retailers list. Check the capacity on the exact listing you buy from, and treat it as a retailer claim until Insta360 publishes it.